Schnee’s Phase

dlidov

デイビット·リダブ

Hello Everyone…

Composer David Lidov has just put up a blog post about my score “PHASE ORDER.” I thought you all might like to read it here, reposted. Lidov is a brilliant thinker and writer, and it is a huge honor to have him engage with my work.

davidlidov

Schnee’s Phase

Dan Schnee, who maintains a terrific blog, is a saxophonist and drummer, a visual artist, a superb scholar of several aspects of Asian culture, to mention merely a few of the arrows in his bountiful quiver. He has a strong interest & practice in free improvisation. I knew none of that except for that very last when he approached me some years ago during his Ph. D. studies at York University with a few of the drawings he makes as graphic scores for free improvisation and asked me if I could comment on it “as a semiotician”.
— –I confess his request then made me quiver, just a touch, especially the “as a semiotician” part. It was probably during one of my vacations from being a semiotician. At that moment, I had no context regarding his interests, and I didn’t say much.
What follows is the…

View original post 1,235 more words

Leave a Reply

