TEDx YorkU: 2010

TEDx

The annual Technology, Entertainment and Design Conference TED, originally a one-off conference in California, has now become both a global community of international speakers and locally organized TED affiliated conferences TEDx. Organized around the concept of “Ideas Worth Spreading,” the annual TED and local TEDx talks bring together a fascinating mix of 21st century innovative concepts and technologies. Past speakers include: billionaire Bill Gates. J.J Abrams, Al Gore, jazz musician Herbie Hancock, writer Douglas Adams, Julian Assange, U2 frontman Bono, singer David Byrne, and many others.

It just so happens that back in 2010, my doctoral alma mater York University (Toronto) asked me to speak at their own TEDx event about my work as a graphic score composer. So I decided to do a mini-lecture/recital based on my score CHOLLOBHAT, and how I approach the idea that cognition or thinking itself can be music.

Since many of you have most likely not heard or seen it, I thought I would put it up for your enjoyment while I continue to reorganize my material possessions and pack/unpack boxes, get rid of old clothes, and so on. (Note: the joke I tell about myself/homelessness at the beginning is in reference to the previous speaker, who gave an excellent talk about his innovative solutions to housing and feeding the homeless population of North York).

Leave a Reply

