Introduction to Vietnamese (Tiếng Việt): Part Four

vtnm

Tiếng Việt

In Part Three of this series I outlined the basic ways to express thinking and saying something, as well as doing things and/or having the capability to do things. Next we will discuss where one is or doing things, using a reference to one’s position in space or time.

For example, we often do things in a city or a house (nhà), so we must learn how to express our actions in terms of the place itself. Thus:

Tôi ở trước (nhà).            I am in front of (the house).

Tôi ở sau (nhà).               I am behind (the house).

Tôi ở cạnh (nhà).             I am beside (the house).

Tôi ở (trên) nhà.              I am (on top of) the house.

Tôi ở dưới nhà.               I am under the house.

Tôi ở Hà Nội.                   I am in Hanoi.

Tôi không ở Paris.           I am not in Paris.

One can also express their position in terms of the inner room (phòng) layout.

Tôi ở (nhà bếp).               I am in (the kitchen).

Tôi ở phòng tắm.             I am in the bathroom

Tôi ở phòng ngủ.            I am in the bedroom.

This can also involve various idioms and prepositions concerning how one is feeling. For example, one can be with someone in his or her house, or feel a certain way while eating in the kitchen:

Tôi cảm thấy buồn.                           I feel sad (can also imply bad or ill).

Tôi cảm thấy muốn ăn.                    I feel like eating.

Tôi với một người bạn của tôi.      I am with my friend.

One can also position themselves in terms of an action and the length of time that has or will transpire in relation to that action:

một             one

hai             two

ba             three

bốn            four

năm            five

sáu             six

bảy             seven

tám             eight

chín            nine

mười            ten

Tôi đã ăn mười (phút) trước.            I ate ten (minutes) ago.

Tôi sẽ ăn (sau) mười lăm phút.         I will eat (in) 15 minutes.

(Chúng-ta) sẽ ăn sau một phút.         (We) will eat in one minute.    [You could also say Chúng-tôi – “You and I”]

(Họ) sẽ ăn sau một giờ.                     (They) will eat in one hour.

Tôi sẽ ăn (trong) một phút.              I will eat (for) one minute.

Tôi (cố gắng để) ăn.                             I am (trying to) eat.     [cố is pronounced something like “go-oh”]

Since I am interested in philosophy and musical improvisation, I thought I would include them, considering basic, standardized textbooks don’t teach the following terms and phrases:

nhà triết học                          philosopher.

ngẫu hứng                               Improvisation.

Tôi thích triết học.               I like philosophy. (học is pronounced like “hawp”)

Tôi là một nhà triết học.     I am a philosopher.

Tôi ngẫu hứng âm nhạc.      I improvise music.

Tôi đang ngẫu hứng chơi sax.    I am improvising on the saxophone.

Ω

© 2014 Daniel Schnee.danielpaulschnee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

